U Mad Bro? Why Do So Many Hate The Seahawks

maxresdefaultI’ve been a Seattle Seahawks fan since I can remember.

I grew up cheering for Curt, with a C, Warner, the former Penn State great who was the main instrument in Chuck Knox’s “ground chuck” attack in the King Dome.

I idolized SteveLargent and would aways want the number 80 on my jersey, often times tossing this football as far as I could into the sky, cradling my arms, and catching the winning TD against our AFC West rivals.

Still have the football.

Still have the football.

To me there was no better quarterback than Dave Kreig or defensive lineman than Jacob Green.

I got lucky back in 2000 when Seattle drafted one of my favorite college players in Shaun Alexander.

Seattle had toiled in professional sports obscurity for so long.

Outside of a 1984 AFC championship appearance, the good times were few and far between.

Actually, more often than not times were awful, whether it was Brian Bosworth getting run over or going 2-14 in 1992 and drafting Rick Mirer number two overall, ironically, the Patriots took Drew Bledsoe at number one.

Rick Mirer set the franchise back a decade.

When folks would ask who my favorite football team was and I would answer with the Seahawks they would look at me like a crazy person.

The Seahawks?

So now the Seahawks are good.

Real good.

For the better part of a decade they have been perennial playoff contenders and are heading to their second consecutive Super Bowl and third appearance there in 10 years.

And everyone hates them.

Everyone likes to call Richard Sherman a thug, which, whether those who do that would like to admit, is a racially charged and extremely ignorant comment.

Essentially you are comparing a professional athlete, who might be an asshole at worst, to those who maybe deal drugs, rob, and shoot people.

Nice.

Does Pete Carroll leave a bad taste in your mouth?

Why, because he’s a good coach and you wished he coached your team?

Probably.

I get sports hate, I do, well, sort of.

I get that people hate Alabama, the Yankees, Steelers, Duke, or even the Patriots, but this success for Seattle has been a long time coming.

I mean, hell, Seattle sports fans had to watch their beloved Supersonics leave and have the most success they’ve ever had…… in Oklahoma City.

It’s really all quite silly in the end, but why do so many hate a franchise that for so long has driven its fan base insane with bad signings, draft picks and coaching hires.

I’m looking at you Dennis Erickson.

I will apologize for nothing.

I’ve been laughed at for being a Seahawks fan.

I’ve owned Seahawks Zubaz pants and once endured a Christmas morning where I was gifted a Rick Mirer jersey about a year after it was established he was a bust.

Win or lose in two weeks it doesn’t matter and if Seattle drops off a cliff in a few years so be it.

Sports is cyclical.

Go Seahawks!

 

Leave a comment