Finally It’s Game Day

Does that set up not look amazing?

Does that set up not look amazing?

This has been one of the most excruciating months for myself as a college football fan.

The run up to the first ever College Football Playoff has seemed never-ending.

At this point I almost don’t care about the outcome as I just want the game to get here and start.

So finally, it is game day, but here again we are taunted by what will probably be a 9:00 p.m. kickoff.

I can’t read anymore about this game.

No more breakdowns.

Save me further analysis.

What in the hell is there left to say?

I don’t know about you all, but I haven’t even thought about the semi-final game between Florida State and Oregon. It’s as if it doesn’t exist. I wonder if everyone in that universe feels the same about Alabama and Ohio State.

Am I nervous?

No, I’m not playing.

I’ve gained some perspective as a Tide fan since Nick Saban arrived, which, yes, I know, sounds absurd for ANY college football fan let alone one of us Bammers.

We have won three national titles since 2009.

THREE!

Some programs will never win one, let alone three in their entire history.

For further perspective I grew up a Seattle Seahawks fan so I’ve truly been living fat off of the sports fan land.

Still, I want to see Alabama win this game, but regardless of who ends up in Dallas on January 12th I have come to appreciate the accomplishment of the four teams that have made it.

It’s been a long and crazy road to the final four.

Yes, Alabama is in the final four, words I never thought I would hear (thanks football!)

I’ve been taunted all month-long nearly everywhere I went.

There have been numorous middle fingers aimed at my direction along I-670.

Some folks seemed downright offended last evening as I work my Alabama gear throughout Cosi, covering First Night Columbus.

“How you gonna wear Alabama gear up in here?”

Seriously, I was asked that.

I wanted to respond to him by representing a how-to on getting dressed for the day, but I figured it would go over his head.

Yes I wore my Alabama clothing nearly 24/7. I am damn proud of my university and what this football program has accomplished. Ohio State, after all, wants what WE have.

I will wear my crimson today and tomorrow and the next.

Sometimes I wish I didn’t care as much, but whether it’s a personality fault or not, I do.

So enjoy the game.

Alabama 34 Ohio State 24

Roll Tide.

Leave a comment